Meet OSHA Training Requirements in Oregon
The state of Oregon operates an approved State OSHA Program (OR-OSHA) that regulates OSHA training at most workplaces in the state. The Oregon State Plan was submitted on April 28, 1972, and received certification for completing all developmental steps on September 24, 1982. In May of 2005 federal OSHA granted final approval to the Oregon state OSHA Program.
Oregon State OSHA Training Regulations and Standards
Over the years, Oregon has adopted a number of major safety and health standards that, while deemed as effective as comparable federal standards, also have significant differences. Oregon has also adopted a number of state-initiated rules for which there are no federal counterparts, including Forest Activity Standards, Agriculture Standards, Firefighter Standards, and Pesticide Worker Protection Standards.
Oregon OSHA’s rules are separated into divisions. Division 1 applies to all Oregon employers and contains general rules for the administration of the Oregon Safe Employment Act. Division 2 contains general industry rules; Division 3 contains construction industry rules; Division 4 contains rules relating to agricultural operations; Division 5 contains rules relating to maritime/shipyard operations, and Division 7 contains rules relating to forest activities, including logging.
State health and safety standards can be accessed on the OR-OSHA website. Links to federal OSHA training requirements for construction and general industry are available below on this page.
The state of Oregon exercises safety and health jurisdiction over most private sector employers in the state, and over public sector employers other than the federal government. Federal OSHA exercises jurisdiction over those employers not covered by the state of Oregon, to include: maritime employers such as shipyards, marine construction, marine terminals, long-shoring, and diving; private contractors on military reservations and at Crater Lake National Park; the United States Postal Service; civilian employees of federal installations, and Indian Reservations.
Authorized OSHA Trainers in Oregon
There is no official certification required to teach most OSHA training classes in Oregon. However, you must make certain that on site OSHA 10 or 30-hour training classes are conducted by a trainer who is officially authorized to conduct these OSHA courses. The trainer must first complete a series of OSHA trainer classes provided by one of the OSHA Education centers located around the country. You can confirm their status as a currently authorized OSHA Outreach trainer by asking to look at their credentials proving they completed the following trainer courses.
Construction industry trainers must successfully complete the OSHA 510 course, followed by the OSHA 500 course. This qualifies the trainer to conduct OSHA 10-hour construction training in Oregon and anywhere else in the USA and territories for a four-year period. The trainer is also authorized to conduct OSHA 30-hour construction training in Oregon and elsewhere. To maintain their status as an authorized OSHA Outreach trainer for construction, they must complete the OSHA 502 trainer update course every four years.
General industry trainers must successfully complete the OSHA 511 course, followed by the OSHA 501 course. This qualifies the trainer to conduct OSHA 10-hour general industry training in Oregon and anywhere else in the USA and territories for a four-year period. The trainer is also authorized to conduct OSHA 30-hour general industry training in Oregon and elsewhere. To maintain their status as an authorized OSHA Outreach trainer for general industry, they must complete the OSHA 503 trainer update course every four years.
Be assured that our trainers who conduct on-site OSHA training classes in Oregon are authorized OSHA Outreach trainers. Scroll down to see links to all of the on site OSHA training classes we conduct listed below.
Online OSHA 10 and 30-hour Training Courses Accepted in Oregon
There are also OSHA-authorized online 10 and 30-hour training courses available for construction and general industry. However, you must pay close attention, as only those course providers that are specifically authorized to provide these courses can issue trainees the official DOL / OSHA 10 or 30-hour wallet cards. There are plenty of imitators out there who use deceptive fine print and “too good to be true” pricing to sell you a course that is not OSHA authorized. You can rest assured that the 10 and 30-hour online OSHA training courses offered on our website are authorized by OSHA, and are accepted in Oregon as well as all other states and US territories.
Oregon OSHA Information
The Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division (OR-OSHA) is part of the Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services. Oregon OSHA is headquartered in Salem, and has field offices in Portland, Salem, Eugene, Medford, Pendleton and Bend. The central telephone number for enforcement information is 1-(800) 922-2689.
The Federal OSHA National Emergency Hotline telephone number is 1-800-321-OSHA.
Occupational Fatality Data (2020) – Oregon
(1) – Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Oregon OSHA Training Resources
OSHA Training Conducted at Your Site in Oregon (see available courses below)
OSHA Training Classes conducted at your site IN Oregon
Request a proposal for osha training at your site in Oregon
Disclaimer: This information was obtained from the Federal OSHA website. OSHA Training Services inc. makes every effort to ensure that the information on this page is accurate and up to date, but changes in state law and procedures affecting the information on this page are beyond our control. Contact OR OSHA state program staff directly to verify important information about Oregon OSHA training requirements.